Click to Home
Emergency Alert - Inactive

Go To Search
Soil Conservation District
About Conservation Districts
"These Conservation District Boards provide citizens the opportunity for local direction of federal and state natural resource conservation programs as they impact private lands. They also impact conservation activities on public lands. For 70 years CDs have helped install conservation practices that have protected and improved Utah's basic natural resources. “The soil conservation movement grew out of the “Dust Bowl” days in the early 1930’s, when soil erosion created an unprecedented ecological disaster. President Franklin D. Roosevelt recommended that all states pass legislation allowing the creation of soil conservation districts. Utah passed the state’s Soil Conservation District Law in March 1937.” (From UACD website)

Conservation districts are unique limited purpose local government entities and political subdivision of the state with authority from Utah laws. They are governed by a board of five citizens elected by their peers in a special election conducted by mail. Board members serve a four-year term of office." (K. N. "Jake" Jacobson, Conservation Program Specialist)

Until recently these Boards were called Soil Conservation Districts, but the Soils part has been dropped to reflect their ability to deal with all programs relating to land, soil, and water conservation and protection.

Daggett Conservation District
The Daggett Conservation District is independent from Daggett County, but does receive some minimal support from the County. The Board was recently appointed by the County Commission to be the County Weed Control Board and also serves as the County Agricultural Protection Area Advisory Board. The Utah Association of Conservation Districts has a map of all the districts within Utah. The Daggett Conservation District is one of 38 districts statewide and is a member of Zone 6.

Meetings are held the 2nd Wednesday of each month in the Commission Chambers of the Daggett County Courthouse at 10 am.

  • Carol Gardiner – Chair 
  • Jon Wilde - Supervisor
  • Hugh Straatman –  Supervisor
  • Kris Hullinger - Supervisor 
  • Bryan Smith - Supervisor

Meeting Agendas, Minutes, and other Documents
Upcoming meeting agendas and past meeting minutes, plus other pertinent documents are stored in the archives of this website.

No-Till Drill
The Daggett Conservation District owns a no-till drill that is available to producers in the area for a minimal maintenance fee of $8.00 per acre. To rent this drill, contact Carol Gardiner. If you rent the drill, please contact Carol and inform her of the acreage before passing it on to another person. Otherwise, you may be accountable for the total acreage of use.

EQIP Contracts
Continuous sign-ups are available for EQIP contacts in the Daggett/Washam area. For information contact Bryan Christensen at 307-362-3602 or Wayne McCallister at 435-789-2100.  


News - All
USDA Designates Daggett County, Utah, As A Primary Natural Disaster area
Daggett County along with surrounding counties has been as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who have suffered losses due to a recent drought may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. Deadline to apply is May 14, 2019

Flaming Gorge Country - Gateway to the Flaming Gorge